Tangerine Dream - Ricochet [1975]

Country: Berlin.Germany
Style: Electronic, Ambient, Experimental
Format: Mp3
CBR: 44.1Khz, 320kbps.

"Part One," recorded in Autumn 1975 in France, opens up with a solemn march. Froese's fuzzed guitar introduces the main theme of the piece (a repeated melody of C-Bflat-Aflat-G-F-G), then the keyboards latch on to it, doubling the melody and adding harmonic variations. Of note, there are real drum sounds (presumably Chris Franke, given his earlier role in the band and the emphasis on toms) in addition to synthetic percussion. The march builds and builds, before being intruded upon by a sudden barrage of garbled sound samples. At about eight minutes into "Part One", the second half turns an urgent pace. Now the instantly recognizable, classic Tangerine Dream sound flows in: looping melodic patterns and rhythmic sequencing to weave a soft thread of hypnosis about the listener. The band explode with a bouquet of different sounds, the layering of which is astounding, if you really sit and listen to everything that's going on. Again, did just three people play all of what we hear at once live? Incredible, if so; they must have had state-of-the-art equipment. The main theme resurfaces soon enough to lend some thematic cohesion.

"Part Two" was recorded in Croyden, England (October 23, 1975) and contains a prelude with a delicate piano ringing out lonely notes with just the right amount of echo, before a flute mellotron wanders into the picture to provide companionship. Though brief, this is one of the most beautiful moments on the album, with higher notes twinkling in the distance somewhat recalling Frippertronics. Then, it's off to another wave or two of racing, mechanistic sequencing and kaleidoscopic patterns, sometimes louder and sometimes softer, more or less seeing us through the remainder of "Part Two."

Track listing :

1. Ricochet Part I (17:02)
2. Ricochet Part II (21:13)



Synaecide - Scientifica (IDMf 005) [2009]

Country: Australia
Style: Electronic, IDM
Format: Mp3
CBR: 44.1Khz, 320kbps.

Scientifica is a masterwork of grime-y breaks, mutilated samples, and gorgeous vocals. Working his way through a myriad of styles; Synaecide displays a very unique voice, a host of intricate texture work and breathtaking composition

All tracks written & produced by Synaecide
Mastered by Matt Lange
Executive Producer: Nathan Schwartz
Artwork: Dean Samed
An IDMf Netlabel release: http://label.idmforums.com/

Track listing :

01: Venom (featuring Emane)
02: The World is High
03: Dissolve (featuring Dima Shafro)
04: The Penny Drops
05: Close Bracket (featuring Apache Ninja)
06: Scientifica


UNKLE - End Titles... Stories for Film [2008]

Country: UK
Style: Electronic, Rock
Format: Mp3
CBR: 44.1Khz, 192Kbps.

Not the new UNKLE album then, but a collection of music recorded since the band finished War Stories two years ago. End Titles comprises their music for TV and film projects, with 10 of the tracks taken from a documentary about cult film director Abel Ferrara. Like their subjects' movies, the mood is sombre. After working with DJ Shadow and then Richard File, UNKLE mainstay James Lavelle is now in cahoots with Pablo Clements of the Psychonauts, though the shift from trip-hop to widescreen stoner rock made on War Stories is still holding firm. UNKLE are good at gothic bombast and when they pile on the strings they produce densely atmospheric pieces such as Cut Me Loose. Typically for an UNKLE project, guest stars abound and Ferrara himself croaks like Dylan on Open Up Your Eyes, which perhaps should have been left on the cutting-room floor.

Track listing :

1 End Titles (0:35)
2 Cut Me Loose (5:24)
3 Ghosts (4:57)
4 Ghosts (String Reprise) (0:39)
5 Kaned And Abel (1:04)
6 Blade In The Back (5:12)
7 Synthetic Water (1:06)
8 Chemical (2:48)
9 Nocturnal (5:01)
10 Cut Me Loose (String Reprise) (0:59)
11 Against The Grain (5:22)
12 Even Balance (0:45)
13 Trouble In Paradise (Variation On A Theme) (5:01)
14 Can't Hurt (4:13)
15 24 Frames (4:45)
16 In A Broken Dream (1:24)
17 Clouds (4:07)
18 Black Mass (3:08)
19 Open Up Your Eyes (2:43)
20 Romeo Void (2:11)
21 Heaven (6:58)
22 The Piano Echoes (5:24)